Our Program

Student support

Student Support is an integral part of Shipley’s approach to education because we believe that rigor and support lead to deeply rooted success. We provide support that is individual and developmental in nature and designed to connect health (physical, social, and emotional) with academic skill development. Student Support addresses student needs through:

  • A sequential Pre-K through 12 “core values” curriculum (SEED)
  • Group and individual meetings with counselors and/or academic support (Read more about student counseling.)
  • Standardized academic assessments, such as ERB testing
  • Review of individual academic assessment to inform classroom accommodation
  • Advisory program in Middle School and Upper School to provide mentoring and guidance
  • Review of individual psychoeducational  assessment
  • Consultation with teachers, parents, and administrators
  • Referral to community resources

The Student Support Team includes the appropriate Division Administrators, Division Counselor, Grade Level Deans, Learning or Academic Support Coordinator, and School Nurse in each division. The divisional teams meet weekly. The primary goal of this team is to help students identify paths to success and overcome potential barriers. The team identifies, refers, and intervenes with students and is committed to ensuring their success at Shipley.

In order to access student support, please contact your child's advisor in Middle School or Upper School, or teacher in Lower School.

Contact Student Support

Sharron Russell View Profile
Sharron Russell srussell@shipleyschool.org
Phone 610-525-4300 Ext: 4116
Position(s)

Director Student Support Services

Upper School Academic Support


Joan Elliott '66 View Profile
Joan Elliott '66 jelliott@shipleyschool.org
Phone 610-525-4300 Ext: 4714
Position(s)

Lower School Mathematics Specialist


Anne Nichols Griffin View Profile
Anne Nichols Griffin agriffin@shipleyschool.org
Phone 610-525-4300 Ext: 4164
Position(s)

Middle School Academic Dean and Learning Coordinator



Terri Grossman View Profile
Terri Grossman tgrossman@shipleyschool.org
Phone 610-525-4300 Ext: 4701
Position(s)

Lower School Nurse


Polly Hancock '73 View Profile
Polly Hancock '73 phancock@shipleyschool.org
Phone 610-525-4300 Ext: 4753
Position(s)

Lower School Director of Curriculum and Learning Services

Lower School Learning Coordinator



Judith G. Lambek View Profile
Judith G. Lambek jlambek@shipleyschool.org
Phone 610-525-4300 Ext: 4731
Position(s)

Lower School Counselor


Betsy Leschinsky View Profile
Betsy Leschinsky bleschinsky@shipleyschool.org
Phone 610-525-4300 Ext: 4707
Position(s)

Lower School 3rd Grade Second Teacher

Lower School SEED Teacher



Suzanne Mason View Profile
Suzanne Mason smason@shipleyschool.org
Phone 610-525-4300 Ext: 4727
Position(s)

Lower School Learning Specialist


Jennifer Myer Trainer View Profile
Jennifer Myer Trainer jtrainer@shipleyschool.org
Phone 610-525-4300 Ext: 4133
Position(s)

Upper School Academic Support - Learning Coordinator



Adrienne O'Hara View Profile
Adrienne O'Hara aohara@shipleyschool.org
Phone 610-525-4300 Ext: 4611
Position(s)

Upper School Counselor


Tracy Ryals View Profile
Tracy Ryals tryals@shipleyschool.org
Phone 610-525-4300 Ext: 4227
Position(s)

Middle School Counselor

8th Grade SEED



Mandy Schauerman View Profile
Mandy Schauerman aschauerman@shipleyschool.org
Phone 610-525-4300 Ext: 4188
Position(s)

Upper and Middle School Nurse


Sarah Sterling View Profile
Sarah Sterling ssterling@shipleyschool.org
Phone 610-525-4300 Ext: 4180
Position(s)

Upper School Seminar and Emotional Literacy Teacher

College Counselor



Maria Stroup View Profile
Maria Stroup mstroup@shipleyschool.org
Phone 610-525-4300 Ext: 4144
Position(s)

Co-Director of Community Life/Service Learning

Upper School Student Advocate

Upper School SEED Seminar and Interdisciplinary Teacher


Patricia Walker View Profile
Patricia Walker pwalker@shipleyschool.org
Phone 610-525-4300 Ext: 4708
Position(s)

Lower School Learning Specialist



 

The Shipley School

814 Yarrow Street, Bryn Mawr PA 19010
T: 610.525.4300 F: 610.525.5082
Follow Us on FacebookSubscribe to our NewsfeedFollow us on TwitterWatch our YouTube ChannelFollow us on PinInterest

Get Connected