Upper School Students Earn National Merit and National Hispanic Recognitions

The Shipley School proudly announces twelve members of the Class of 2020 have been recognized by The National Merit Scholarship Program and two members by the National Hispanic Recognition Program.

Congratulations to Declan Buckley, Sarah Cotteta, Zean Dong, Alexandra Holgren, Sarah McGrath, Jacob Polovina, Jeffrey Roman, Eric Rosenbaum, Adelaide Straub and Emma Terlevich for receiving National Merit Commended honors. Aiden Bailey and Maxwell Orr achieved Semi-Finalist honors. The finalists will be announced in February.

The National Merit Scholarship Program honors students who achieve outstanding performance on the 2019 Preliminary SAT/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test (PSAT/NMSQT). Roughly 1.6 million students from over 22,000 high schools participate in the program. Finalists will be eligible for a $2,500 National Merit Scholarship.

Seniors Julia Meckley and Emma Terlevich were recognized by the National Hispanic Recognition Program for outstanding academic achievement and excellence on the PSAT. NHRP is open only to students who are least one-quarter Hispanic/Latino and have at least a 3.5 GPA. Congratulations!
The Shipley School is a private, coeducational day school for pre-kindergarten through 12th grade students, located in Bryn Mawr, PA. Through our commitment to educational excellence, we develop within each student a love of learning and a desire for compassionate participation in the world.